Skyrim: Special Edition

20170114225810_1

So yes, I know, Skyrim is 5 years old. I know that Special Edition is less of a true remaster and more of a money grab disguised as a makeover. But I’ve always wanted to play Skyrim and decided to get it.

Many, many hours later, I wish I haven’t started this brilliant time-suck of a game because it’s becoming a bit of an obsession.

So that’s me, in Daedric Armor on Arvak, posing as some sort of Death Knight. It was my plan from the beginning, to ease myself into the game. Play as a one-handed sword-wielding, heavy armor Death Knight who conjures Dremora Lords to fight on my behalf.

But I sort of forgot about the role-playing because there’s just so much to do. I actually finished the main quest, but that was long after it started at the very beginning of the game. I did many, many quests all over the place, but I’m still FAR from done.

Much of it is due to the sheer size of Skyrim and the multitudes of unique quests it offers. The other is down to the sheer amount of freedom you have. I’ve gotten used to free MMORPGs where you follow a basic linear storyline, and go around grinding on monsters to level up and collect money and loot.

Not Skyrim. Oh no.

There’s not a single quest that you have to do. You don’t even have to fulfill your destiny as the Dragonborn. You can just traipse around the countryside killing bandits and wolves without ever giving a hoot about dragons attempting to consume the world. I probably spent a third of my time just sorting loot and books on my bookshelves in my manor after building it.

And that’s not even considering the modding. Oh the modding.

20170115193740_1

I told myself I wasn’t going to start modding and potentially corrupt all my saves until I was done with the game. But Skyrim will take too long to complete in its entirety, and I couldn’t resist. So I dived into the Nexus with a note to myself that I wouldn’t install anything but the most useful of mods.

Around 80 mods later, I spend half my time in the game just checking if my mods are working. It’s incredible what modders have done to improve the game and extend the life of it. Well, I haven’t actually added any quest mods or immersion mods that make the game more challenging, but it certainly looks a heck of a lot prettier now.

It’s great that Bethesda opens up their RPGs for modding. One would think that with all the work put into building such extensive open worlds and developing incredibly deep lore, they would loathe for people to turn dragons into Thomas the Tank Engines and protagonists can choose to be a lightsaber-wielding My Little Pony. But they did, and whatever their reasoning for doing so, I’m incredibly glad they did.

This has been pretty much one of the best I’ve ever played in the genre so far. But The Witcher 3 is sitting on my hard drive, just waiting for me to get bored of modding Skyrim. So maybe in a year or two, I’ll be back blogging about how great The Witcher 3 is instead. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

