Magicforce-68 Keyboard

2016-09-30 16.15.04.jpg

It’s finally here!

I’m typing this blog post with the keyboard, and it’s taking me a bit of time to get used to. I got the gray frame with typewriter keycaps and Gateron Greens, which are tactile and clicky but with a higher actuation force. It’s a copy of Cherry Greens, essentially, and when I ordered it off Massdrop, I thought it would sort of resemble an old school typewriter experience.

The actuation force is actually tiring me out faster than I thought it would, and I’m making more typos because the keys are a little harder to hit properly than normal keycaps. It’s not as loud as I expected them to be (especially since I’m not bottoming out), but they do sound quite clicky and will probably annoy the heck out of my family if I do use this for extended typing sessions like I had planned to when I decided to buy this keyboard.

Beyond the typing experience though, it’s a real tiny keyboard compared to my full sized Ducky Shine 5. It is built quite well though, and the flip-out feet are quite stable. As you can see, I got the white LED version instead of the blue and orange LED version, and it just looks amazing.

There is a lot of functionality in this keyboard despite its size too. It has those LEDs with adjustable brightness and a breathing mode, dip switches to swap certain keys, media keys and so on. It’s not going to be my main keyboard, of course; but it’s nice to have all these functions that some full-sized keyboards may omit.

I’m probably going to replace all the typewriter keycaps with my white PBT keycaps eventually, but for now, I’m just going to enjoy what amounts to a modern typewriter experience.

Leave a Reply

