The Vicissitudes of Football

I haven’t done any post-match blogging recently, and it’s really down to the up-and-down nature of the 2015/16 season for Liverpool.

Rodgers had presided over a pretty mediocre run of form at the start of the season, and the appointment of Klopp was a huge morale booster. But even he can’t wave a magic wand and turn the terribly inconsistent, unbalanced and hodgepodge squad assembled (expensively!) under Rodgers into a title contender within a few months.

So I’ve had to live with good football interspersed between mediocre and downright terrible football. Most of the time, I end up watching the terrible matches, and it just sucks the life out of me. Worse, I expect such performances under Rodgers so I couldn’t be disappointed. But with Klopp and after his masterminding of massive wins over City, Chelsea and Southampton, there’s always the belief that Liverpool are on the up-and-up, and we can actually win football matches. To then watch us lose because of lethargic play, brainless defending or just plain bad football…it really needles.

I’m not a hardcore fan, but I like to believe I’m not a fair-weathered fan either. It’s just difficult to stomach the crushing disappointment in defeat that I can’t muster up the energy to review and write about matches.

Sometimes, I wish I never fell in love with football. I can only hope that with time, Klopp can bring better days back to the football club I support. Maybe then, I’ll find myself blogging incessantly about the next big win.

Leave a Reply

