Muse – Drones

Drones is immediately familiar, capturing the Muse sound quite well. It’s a quirky, almost psychedelic sound, with thematic lyrics filled to the brim with meaning. There’s a unique atmospheric feel to Muse, and Drones is right there.

It definitely feels more familiar than The 2nd Law, which for me seemed to include too much electronic music. To me, it felt like that ruined the delicate balance between rock and psychedelic, almost like forcing me into the new world of EDM music at times. Of course, I might need to revise my opinion of The 2nd Law; hearing it recently somehow made me feel like it wasn’t actually that heavy on the electronic music after all.

But on first listen of Drones, it’s clear that it’s a Muse album. Unfortunately, it just sounded a bit dull; less impactful, less engaging compared to previous works. I’m not sure whether that’s intentional or if I just have a bad master (or the mastering is bad in general). But if it is intended, then in a way it makes a lot of sense thematically.

After all, the album is called Drones.

Leave a Reply

