Kelly Clarkson – Piece by Piece

I’ve always liked Kelly Clarkson for her lovely vocals and her sweet, catchy, simple yet meaningful lyrics. Sure, I don’t fancy pop music as much as I do rock, but it’s good pop.

But the electronic turn that she took with Piece by Piece made me feel a little confused. Call me old-fashioned, but I’ve never really fancied the new wave of electronic music. Of course, it was quite tasteful and wasn’t overbearing on this album. But for once, I felt that Kelly Clarkson’s voice was taking a back-seat to the music, especially for the electronic-heavy tracks. I’ve always loved stripped down songs from vocal artists, and this…felt too distant for my tastes.

That’s not to say there aren’t some tracks that appeal to me. Run, Run, Run and Tightrope both appealed, mainly because her voice took centre stage from the music. That’s always been the appeal with her songs for me, and the familiarity was nice. Otherwise, the focus on the music rather than the song left me pretty much unable to follow any of her lyrics, which makes them far less catchy to me.

So yea, I didn’t fall in love with this album.

Leave a Reply

