Matt Taylor’s T-Shirt Controversy

I think these 2 9GAG posts sums it up pretty well. Also, that shirt was made by a female friend for him. And seriously, just because video game and anime women dress somewhat skimpily doesn’t mean that the creators and the consumers are chauvinists. Again, how they dress doesn’t define their character. That’s YOUR argument, by the way, radical feminists.

Radical feminism is less about seeking gender equality, and more about men-bashing. It’s exaggerated, over-the-top bullshit. How does that shirt even drive women away from STEM (Science/Tech/Engineering/Math)? So Kim Kardashian goes fully nude and these feminists don’t say a word about how she’s perpetuating the idea that women are only good if they are naked and beautiful (and Photoshopped)?

(Fuck, I didn’t even want to mention KK, because I’ll be making her even more famous. And we don’t need people like her to be famous. We need people like Malala Yousafzai to be famous.)

I think any woman with two brain cells to rub together will agree that his achievements in getting that probe on the comet should be lauded, and his shirt doesn’t do anything other than tell us he’s a fan of video games. And that if women want to get into STEM, all they have to do is to work hard and prove themselves.

And before any radical feminists slam me for saying that ‘women don’t have to prove themselves, you fucking chauvinist!’, I shall make it clear: everyone has to fucking prove themselves. Man or woman or whichever gender you wish to identify yourself by, you need the necessary education and qualifications to do whatever job you wish to pursue, especially in STEM. If you think there should be a gender quota, or even a race quota, then go to hell. If you’re capable, you get hired. If you’re not, you don’t. That’s true equality. Not some bullshit about how a single gender or race or whatever deserves more because they are in the minority, or society has discriminated against them. I judge everyone by their individual merits, and they can judge me as well. That’s real equality, not the generalisation and stereotyping of people because of their gender, their race, their political views, or whatever the hell the people generalise about.

I can see why people don’t want to associate themselves with the word ‘feminism’. Its core message has been twisted and turned into an ugly, disgusting caricature of itself. And of course, just to prove mine (and many other people, including women’s, point), TIME had to issue an apology over this poll, just because they included the word ‘feminism’ as a candidate to get banned. Well, it bloody well should be banned from use, so its meaning won’t get corrupted any further.

EDIT: I realised that some of my older fanfiction may be considered to have objectified women, and pervaded one-dimensional stereotypes. You know what? I totally agree. I was juvenile, immature and hormonal. Hell, I still am. But as I grew older and learnt more about the world, I realised that that kind of writing is horrendous unless in the context of gag humour (both in terms of the messages it conveys, and the quality of the story). Which is why I’ve endeavoured to try and create complex characters, both male and female, in my current project.

I’m not making excuses for my earlier works. But I’m not going to disown and apologise for them either, because they’ve helped me grow as a writer. If not for the disapproval of my own stories, I won’t be attempting to write something more interesting, more complex, and far better developed. So radical feminists, go ahead and accuse me of being chauvinist. I know myself better than anyone else, and my conscience is clear.

Leave a Reply

