The Most Powerful #YesAllWomen Tweets

As a guy, I can’t empathise because these things don’t happen to me. And Singapore, with its strictness and conservatism, is not really a place where you find regular occurrences of what is mentioned in the #YesAllWomen tweets. Sure, I probably haven’t heard of that many cases anyway, but the news reports the arrest and incarceration of molesters all the time (instead of letting it get brushed off), so I think misogyny’s not a prevalent problem here.

Well, I can be thankful that I have little chance of being an unfortunate bystander when someone lets their madness take over them and goes on some killing spree. I can be thankful my sister won’t be subject to such treatment. I suspect the female classmates I know are probably glad they are in Singapore and not elsewhere, where women are gazed upon with misogynistic eyes.

TIME

In a disturbing, now-removed YouTube video, the suspect in the murder spree near Santa Barbara, Calif. promised his revenge against the women who he says forced him to live “an existence of loneliness, rejection and unfulfilled desires.”

“You girls have never been attracted to me,” Elliot Rodger, who killed six people before taking his own life, said in the video. “I don’t know why you girls aren’t attracted to me, but I will punish you all for it. It’s an injustice, a crime, because… I don’t know what you don’t see in me. I’m the perfect guy and yet you throw yourselves at these obnoxious men instead of me, the supreme gentleman.”

Rodger’s comments inspired an online conversation Saturday around the #YesAllWomen hashtag to criticize the way society teaches men to feel entitled to women at the expense of their health, safety and, in Rodger’s case, lives. Here is a…

View original post 535 more words

Leave a Reply

