Syria

I think it’s a bit sad that the world has largely forgotten about Syria’s plight, after the polar vortex, Sochi and Ukraine. And now, as I try to dredge up my knowledge of the Syrian conflict, I find myself finding it very difficult. The only fact I remember was that they have the largest refugee population, or something along those lines.

It’s so easy to dismiss problems that aren’t at our doorstep, but imagine what it must be like for the people who live in those war torn countries. Every day is a struggle just to survive. And here we are whining about our far easier lives on the internet. It’s quite the juxtaposition, and one I wish couldn’t be made.

Once upon a time, I thought Singapore was a pretty young nation-state. It is. It’s only 49 years old this year, and will be half a century old the next. But then I found out about countries like Kosovo, Timor-Leste, the entire Yugoslavian bloc, South Sudan…these are even younger countries, some still embroiled in conflicts. Singapore seems so much older in comparison.

That Singapore developed so quickly and smoothly is credit to the PAP (though they have plenty of room for improvement these days). That I didn’t have to experience war, or famine, or drought, or any sort of hardship makes me glad for where and when I was born. Credit to my parents too, who have done their best to raise me as comfortably as they can.

There’s so much turmoil in the world out there. I’m going to need to indulge in some anime to rid the bleakness and pessimism from my system.

Leave a Reply

